top of page

Review: Mexican Gothic


Title: Mexican Gothic

Author: Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Publisher: Del Rey (imprint of Random House)

Published: 2020

Genre: Magical Realism, Gothic Fiction, Historical Fantasy

Pages: 301 pages (physical copy, hardback)

Read Time: 2 days (intense reading)









 

.:: Author's Summary ::.


After receiving a frantic letter from her newly-wed cousin begging for someone to save her from a mysterious doom, Noemí Taboada heads to High Place, a distant house in the Mexican countryside. She’s not sure what she will find—her cousin’s husband, a handsome Englishman, is a stranger, and Noemí knows little about the region.


Noemí is also an unlikely rescuer: She’s a glamorous debutante, and her chic gowns and perfect red lipstick are more suited for cocktail parties than amateur sleuthing. But she’s also tough and smart, with an indomitable will, and she is not afraid: Not of her cousin’s new husband, who is both menacing and alluring; not of his father, the ancient patriarch who seems to be fascinated by Noemí; and not even of the house itself, which begins to invade Noemi’s dreams with visions of blood and doom.


Her only ally in this inhospitable abode is the family’s youngest son. Shy and gentle, he seems to want to help Noemí, but might also be hiding dark knowledge of his family’s past. For there are many secrets behind the walls of High Place. The family’s once colossal wealth and faded mining empire kept them from prying eyes, but as Noemí digs deeper she unearths stories of violence and madness.


And Noemí, mesmerized by the terrifying yet seductive world of High Place, may soon find it impossible to ever leave this enigmatic house behind.



.:: Personal Summary ::.


Noemí, the daughter of a wealthy man and a feminist to boot, is an independent woman that loves to learn and do as she pleases. This makes her the best representative for her father to send after her cousin, Catalina, after a strange letter finds it way into her father's hands. The words sound manic but equally accusatory of her new spouse who has taken her out to his countryside manor. Little is known about him and it leaves Noemí's father uneasy about the entire situation. Sending Noemí comes at the bargaining chip of her desire to go to college against the traditional aspirations of a young socialite.


Upon her arrival, things are strange in the manor belonging to the Doyle family. Negligence is clear to Noemí upon her arrival, but there seems to be even more amiss, especially in pertinence to her cousin, Catalina. Noemí constantly pushes the boundaries, breaks the rules, and fervently pursues the knowledge she requires to do what she set out to do: rescue her husband. However, she can't seem to find the answers she needs and gets pulled into the mystery of the Doyle family and their home.


With only one member of the Doyle family on her side, Noemí must rise to the occasion when her understanding of reality is challenged, questioned, and turned entirely upside down. Noemí finds herself in a much more dire situation than she could have ever expected.



 

.:: Overall Rating ::.

~ 5.5 out of 5 ~

(Yes Really)


With best-selling series on my favorites list like Harry Potter, Hunger Games, Carry On, and the complete works of John Green, it's hard to beat classic authors with new works. I've fallen in love with plenty of new books, but the trick is staying power. A story that I'll always come back to and be inspired by as a writer. That's how I gauge most books, at least, and this book - this is one I will absolutely never forget and will be forever influenced by because it was an absolute gift to the world. When I say 5.5 out of 5, I'm not joking. This book was the perfect mix of every little crafting trick that authors can use mixed in with a truly compelling story that demands your attention, even if you don't have the time.


When I picked up "Mexican Gothic" I had no clue if I could actually finish it on time for the reading challenge to get the points I wanted for the month. I was going to read it anyway, but at 301 pages and my 2 jobs and multiple side projects, I really thought that it was going to be impossible. But I was sucked into it so fast that I was flying through to pages. I had question after question occupying space in my brain and I absolutely refused to put it down until I had something close to an answer. Silvia Moreno-Garcia had me guessing and asking new questions all the way to the end. Even after the final paragraph, I had questions that made me want a second book or an epilogue, something, anything, just so I could know how the characters fared after the events of the story had taken place.


One of the reviews showcased on Amazon calls the book a beautiful blend of Bronte and Lovecraft, which I don't think is too far off. Of the genres listed above, I definitely felt that Historical Fantasy was the most accurate even though it was the lowest on the list. Without giving away spoilers, because I want to keep this as spoiler free as possible, there are fantasy and almost science-fiction parallel elements to the overarching plot of the story that are nestled into the truly accurate representations of wealth, status, and the culture of obtaining both in the 1950s. Until the plot twists were revealed and explained, I legitimately was convinced it was just going to remain in the realistic fiction vein, which did make the plot twist and reveals so much more impactful because it felt like such a sharp turn. And further still on the matter, there were so many foreshadowing moments and hints scattered throughout in the most minute of ways, CHEF'S KISS! I have a crush on this book. Seriously.


I do feel like a very specific set of trigger warnings are needed, so I will talk about that here because readers do need to know these things before they crack a book open for the safety of their mental health. So - here's the comprehensive, short list of triggering content that this book may have: psychological manipulation, attempted rape/attempt sexual assault, unwilling drug use, attempted murder, actual murder, and discussions of suicide.


Nothing that is depicted is in any specific detail, so I wouldn't go into it expecting explicit details because that is not the case, but that list focuses on the most triggering content. I know that 10 years ago, I could not have handled some of those topics without compromising my mental health at the time. Also, believe it or not, none of the triggers listed are major parts of the plot, though, just aspects that make the artery of the plot even more intense.


This is just a really well written with a phenomenal story and characters that you love to love, hate to hate, and love to hate.



 

.:: Technical Writing ::.

~ 5 out of 5 ~


This section is going to be incredibly short. It was just beautifully written all around. I texted me writing friend a number of times saying "How can I get published when this woman exists - her work is immaculate!" This story was told with such tact and finesse that I swear to you I could read this again tomorrow and still find new details that highlight the quality of the story she weaved for her read. There are only 2 other authors who I have avowed myself to read their other works after finishing a novel of theirs: John Green & David Arnold. Now, Silvia Moreno-Garcia adds her name to the list. I will be looking into her other works. I count myself lucky to have found her work.


I do want to say that my favorite skill of Moreno-Garcia's is her ability to be extremely descriptive without making the read laborious. We've all read those books by those authors who are truly talented at writing descriptions but it requires every bit of mental might you can muster when trying to immerse yourself in the story to keep up with the intensity of it. There's nothing wrong with that, but it takes a specific kind of reader, right? On the flip side, there are authors who are very dialogue focused and plot focused so there's maybe less description and more is left to the imagination for the reader to decide. There's nothing wrong with that approach either, but it also is designed for a specific type of reader. Moreno-Garcia blends those two extremes so perfectly. There are enchanting levels of description paired perfectly with active plot movement, even when you don't realize it. There's a healthy amount of dialogue, too, since character relationships are integral to the story and how it plays out.


I'm not joking. This woman is the epitome of where literature is going and what it takes skill-wise to really tell an effective story. I envy the work that you can tell went into this work of art.



 

.:: Creative Content ::.

~5 out of 5 ~


I definitely have been dreading this section, not because there's nothing to say, but because I want to be so careful about what I'm saying about it, right? I don't want to give to much away because I want you to read this book. In order to avoid that, I'm going to kind of talk about the really fun things about the genre specific elements.


Firstly, the historical elements are really solid. 1950s Mexico with both native Mexicans as main characters who are bilingual, and British immigrants who are not particularly well-versed in anything but English. This is not only historically (and presently) reflective of the time, but equally as important to the plot line later in the story. The culture of wealth is showcased from two very stark angles that have these cultures surrounding them that impact the behaviors of the characters within them.


Secondly, the fantasy and science-fiction elements are distinctly faint early in the plot development, and you may not have even thought about them as fantastical or science-focused, and yet they were very much so. Moreno-Garcia is able to take the normal and realistic and raise it to a creative status that weaves real and unreal into one. Not to mention, there are legitimate research studies referenced from the time period to explain the science-fiction aspects of the story. It's a dark fantasy that does not seem too unfathomable as you are reading it.


Lastly, the magical realism of the story is incredibly. That's why it doesn't seem unfathomable. The concepts feel touchable and tangible in ways that make magical realism such a popular genre. This is what readers are looking to immerse themselves in when they are trying to escape the dark reality that we often must exist within on a regular basis. One of the things that makes the magical realism so effective is the elements borrowed from the horror genre that operate and legs to the tabletop of the work as a whole. I do believe this was advertised as a horror novel in some ways, but the fear that is borne of the plot is the result of how truly disturbing the antagonists and their abilities are when utilized to prevent the progress of Noemí's goals.



 

.:: Recommendation Rating ::.

~ 4 out of 5 ~


Listen, I love this book, and I want you to read it - but.


This is definitely not a book I would recommend to younger readers. For example, I couldn't see myself recommending this book to a middle schooler, no matter how high their reading level. I would be okay with high schoolers reading this book under the conditions that they are fully aware of what they're getting ready to read in terms of triggers. It's not common practice to disclose trigger content in published books, which I find a tiny bit pathetic, but that's a side opinion you can find an old post for. While the content itself is not explicit, my concern is very specific for the sexual/rape content. I feel like there's too much in our culture that romanticizes that type of experience and I don't want the scenes that happen in this book to be mistaken. Moreno-Garcia wrote in a very specific manner with a very specific purpose, and awareness of that is necessary.


Because of that inability to recommend it to a wider audience, I don't feel like I can give it a perfect recommendation rating. That's not to say that there's a problem with that - there's a reason adult fiction is a whole thing - but I don't want to say 5/5 and have anyone thinking that it can be recommended to anyone. Also, you probably don't want to recommend this book to anyone who is definitely racist or sexist because the strong Latino female protagonist that challenges the defunct and sick practices of a deeply messed up white man and overcomes the unparalleled control he had over a large number of people... That's probably not going to be their cup of tea.


Otherwise, this book is amazing. Watch your triggers, mind the age, and you're golden. The wonderous thing about books is that they won't come and go like friends oft do. This book will be ready and waiting for you when you're ready.


And if you're never ready - Hulu is working on a production, so you could always wait for that too. Again, watch your triggers and mind your age.



 

.:: Personal Opinion ::.


~ 5 out of 5~


I'm going to keep this section brief because I don't want to be super repetitive. This was a fabulous read and I cannot sing my praises high enough. I know at the time I'm writing this I am a nobody and probably 2 people will read this, but I will never forget and will never stop loving it. Years from now I'll be recommending this book to other people.



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page